Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.


22nd Sep 2020
**THE DLI/ADCI PLAY-WRITING AWARD 2020** *Inspiring excellence in writing plays*

Purpose: To promote, support and encourage improvement in play writing on the one-act circuit in Ireland.

Eligibility Criteria: Those playwrights who were born in Ireland, have gained Irish citizenship or who have lived in Ireland for a minimum of three years. Entries for the competition is for new work which should not have been performed in any previous festival either within or without Ireland, and should be submitted before Wednesday 14th October 2020.

The Judging Panel: The judging panel will consist of 3 members selected by the Joint Committee of DLI/ADCI.
There will be an independent chairman, a representative of DLI and a representative of ADCI who will oversee the judging of the competition. The panel for the 2020 competition will be: Chairman - Walker Ewart, Anne Mekitarian representing DLI, and Trish Keane representing ADCI.

Judging the Plays: The play will be judged but on the quality and potential of the writing. The judging panel will provide the playwright with short feedback after the announcement of the winner. A copy of the play, of whichever draft, should be forwarded by e-mail to Walker Ewart Please ensure that you have an e-mail address and a mobile phone number by which you can be contacted, and see the attached notes to aid your application.

The Award: The overall winner for the year will be announced on the first weekend of December 2020. The decision of the judges, overseen by the DLI/ADCI Joint Committee, will be final. The winner will be awarded a week long writing course in the Tyrone Guthrie Centre in Annaghmakerrig, Newbliss, Co. Monaghan. As well as an overall winner, at the discretion of the judges some plays may be ‘highly commended.’ The panel reserve the right NOT to award the prize where the overall quality is deemed to be not sufficiently good.

Previous Winners

2017 (Pilot Year)
Winner: Shooting Stars by Alice Lynch Highly Commended: Triptych by Henry Hudson; Chemistry by Anne Anderson

Winner: Where Is This Malabar? by Liam Howard Highly Commended: Smile, Handsome by Liz O’Hanlon; Aubade by Mark Yeates

Winner: Dead Men’s Bells by Meabh de Brun
Highly Commended: A Beginner's Guide to Madness by Barry McKinley; The Aftermath by Alice Lynch

Guidelines on the Presentation of Entries to the Play-Writing Competition 2020

General It is permissible to send a draft of the play which may change as readings/rehearsals go forward. All entries should be typed in Arial Size 12. Please ensure that there is a complete list of cast members. There should be a clear delineation between the lines of each character, with any stage directions either in brackets or italics.

Front Page The front page should have the title of the play with the name of the author.

Introductory Page It would be useful for the panel to have some background information on the author - are you a member of a particular group, etc? How long writing? Any other published pieces? First time attempt? Also, it would be of benefit to provide some information as to the themes explored within the play and why you chose to write it.

The judging is based on the potential of the writing only (in previous years we included a clause which read: not on how well the play does on the festival circuit, but this is obviously not relevant this year). There will be 4 categories judged and it may help you to consider them as you review your writing: (a) development of character: 40%; (b) situations/scenes creating dramatic effect: 35%: (c) lighting/sound/technical: 15%; (d) overall appeal: 10%.

Tip for the Playwright: An area which needed more thought in the entries in 2019 was that of lighting/sound/technical. Is there a particular effect you would like the director to achieve within your play? What guidelines can you give on the technical side of things?